Awesome, easy, and beautiful recycled planters

Recycled plantersToday was a beautiful day in Pennsylvania! Sunny… Warm… It was like summer arrived early and it was enough to put a smile on my face! Since we had nothing planned for the day, I decided to do a craft with the girls and plant some flowers too. The day just seemed to be begging for lots of outside activities. (And sunscreen!)

recycle cool whip tubsA few weeks ago, I helped out with our school’s game night and brought home these whipped topping containers to put in with our recycling instead of throwing them out. As I was getting ready to toss them into the recycling bin though, I wondered if I might be able to use them for something. We’ve already got just the right amount of left over containers so I knew I didn’t need them for that. I considered covering them with fabric. I was unsure of what I’d use them for but sure they’d be cute. I read online that all you need to adhere fabric to plastic is spray adhesive. I’ve got the adhesive but no fabric that I’m crazy about so I let that roll around in my head a little longer.

A few days later, the oldest and I were at Target getting her some new pjs. We walked through the craft aisles and the duct tape caught my eye. I had just read a post from a fellow blogger about making a desk organizer with duct tape. It was basically toilet paper rolls and duct tape and it looked so cute! I realized that it would probably be even easier to cover my containers with duct tape than with fabric so we grabbed 2 rolls.   scotch duct tape projects

When we got home, I tried out my idea – wrapping the containers with duct tape –  immediately and while it did stick, my first attempt was pretty sloppy. Since it’s wider at the top than the bottom wrapping duct tape around the container resulted in lots of bumps. After a few more days of thinking it over – I rarely do anything quickly – I realized that the tape pieces needed to go up and down and not around. That would keep them straight and I wouldn’t have to compensate for width differences between the top of the tape and the bottom.  

My first attempt at vertical tape versus horizontal tape was a success so it was time to bring in the little guns and let the kiddos experiment with theirs too.

duct taped planters
Littlest’s on the left, oldest’s in the middle, mine on the right.

When they were done taping up their containers, I drilled holes in the bottoms for drainage, they put pop up glue dots on the bottom and we attached the lids as saucers to catch any extra water.

I’ve got to say, I’m pretty proud of myself for coming up with this project mostly by myself and I think they look pretty darned good for whipped topping containers!

Here’s how we did it:

Materials:

  • 8 whipped topping containers-washed and dried
  • 2 rolls of duct tape-we chose sparkly! Was there a doubt?
  • Drill with 3/32 bit? (I think that’s what it was but any bit will work.)
  • Pop up glue dots

Method:

  • Apply tape to container in any manner that you’d like. The chevrons were the most work because of the extra cutting I had to do. The girls liked squares and diamonds on a contrasting background.
  • Drill holes in bottom of container. I considered doing this before putting the tape on but if you cover the holes when you’re taping, you lose your drainage. You can stack the containers and drill a few at once when they’re decorated. I did three at a time that way with no problem.
  • Attach pop up glue dots around the outside rim of the container. These not only secure the lid to the base but provide a little more space between the bottom of the container and the lid to allow for drainage.  Turn container over and attach to upside down lid. The lip of the lid will catch any extra water that comes through the drainage holes. Not a LOT mind you so don’t go dumping gallons on your plants unless you don’t mind whatever the planters are sitting on getting soaked.
  • Plant away!

IMG_8511

I’m terrible at watering plants so I’m going to try to put that responsibility on the girls and see if they can make a better go of it with their plants than I usually do!

What do you think of our planters? Will you be adding these to your ‘to make’ list?

Awesome, easy, and beautiful recycled planters

One thought on “Awesome, easy, and beautiful recycled planters

  1. Thanks so much for the link! I’m glad you liked the desk organizer. You did an awesome job making the planters; they look fantastic and are perfect for spring! I love that they are made from recycled materials.

    Like

Leave a Reply

