#nablopomo here we go!

Happy May! This month, I’m challenging myself to be part of NaBloPoMo again. May’s theme is photos and I’m pretty excited about participating in a photo challenge. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but just never got around to. While this may not be a traditional photo challenge, I know I’ll be taking pictures that I probably normally wouldn’t so I’m looking forward to it!

Here’s the lineup:

Today’s topic: Do you like taking selfies? Why or why not?

#momstaysinthepicture smirky selfie
Smirky selfie

To which I say…

I don’t mind taking selfies but I don’t do it a lot. I think like a lot of moms, I put myself last on the list when it comes to many things so my hair and make up and clothes are often just an afterthought. I don’t necessarily like the tired, tangled version of me that stares back from the front-facing camera. But it’s something I’m working on. I’m trying to take more selfies – mostly with my girls – so that I’m present and in the picture. After reading this article a while ago, I’ve been trying to make more of an effort to be in the picture. And besides, it’s not all bags-under-the-eyes and tired looking skin. On those occasions when I do put myself first, I can be pretty pleased with the results.

How bout you? Are you selfie crazy or a selfie-phobe?

#momstaysinthepicture new do
Happy with a new do!
#nablopomo here we go!

4 thoughts on “#nablopomo here we go!

  1. You’re looking great, and taking your selfies, especially with your girls is special, and you will have these moments to look back to someday as you browse over them.
    All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hear you Sharon and that’s the feeling I’m trying to overcome! Our kiddos deserve to see us in pictures. They need to know we enjoyed all of our hard work. Someday, it’s all that they’ll have and I want to make sure they see me at every stage of my life. There may come a day years from now when they’ll find a picture of me and swear they are looking in a mirror. I don’t want to deprive them of that moment đŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

