Rage, rage…

While I’m not participating in NaBloPoMo this month, I have stopped back there a time or two to check out the writing prompts. This months theme is ‘news’ which is something that I haven’t been keeping up on lately. And I’ll admit I’ve been feeling kind of dumb because of it.

I used to know all kinds of random stuff. But these days, I’m lucky I can remember how to put gas in the car. (Ok so that’s an exaggeration but you get my point I hope.) Usually I blame stuff on my kids. They’re pretty young still so they either don’t hear it, don’t pay attention to it or don’t know that they should be defending themselves. What I’ve realized though is that it’s my fault.

Before my kids were born – and even when they were young to a lesser degree – I learned new things all the time. I’ve never really been one to read the newspaper or news magazines with the exception of a brief flirtation with a Newsweek subscription that my dad must’ve gotten free with a PBS pledge and had sent to me anonymously. Ahem. Tangent. Sorry. 

I’m an auditory learner so just having NPR on in the car was enough for me to absorb new and interesting tidbits every day. Throw in a documentary or two and an episode of Jeopardy every once in a while and I was good to go; full of all kinds of useless (and sometimes surprisingly useful) information. But my girls have developed a love of music and at almost-7 and almost-5, they love nothing more that flipping through the stations on their radios in their rooms to find something to dance to. Which is great. I love music. But it has turned our drives into, “Mom can we listen to FM 97?”, “Mom I don’t like this song. Can we listen to mix 106?”, “Mom there’s a commercial on. Can you turn on flower?” (Which I think I just recently realized is actually called wired 95?) Not only is it enough to drive me just about nuts but it’s also totally killed my NPR time.

Documentaries were never my hubby’s favorite thing to watch and so I don’t really suggest them much. Even if he would jump at the chance to watch one though, I find that I’m always on my phone when the TV’s on so I probably wouldn’t pay attention to most of it anyway.

And the thought of sitting down in front of the TV at 7pm (that’s still when Jeopardy’s on right?) sounds like it might have just as much chance of success as the Hindenburg did. I know, I know. DVR it. I refer you to the paragraph above. Phone in hand. Constantly.

I’ve always considered myself to be a smart person. Not a genius or anything but relatively intelligent. Part of me feels like I’m getting to a point in my life where I can’t learn anything new and I don’t like it. The other dangerfield ragepart is showing Rodney Dangerfield in Back To School reciting, “Rage, rage against the dying of the light.” I refuse to capitulate to my own stereotype that once we get to a certain age we can’t learn new things. You CAN teach an old dog new tricks and I’m not even willing to concede that I’m an old dog yet.

I’m gonna have to turn to YouTube for my information I’m afraid. It’s the easiest auditory source of random information I can think of. It scares the crap out of me because I’m afraid I won’t find anything but aspiring Jackass clips but it’s time to rage, rage against the dying of the brain!

Do you know of any brilliant YouTubers who can change my opinion of the site?

Rage, rage…

Leave a Reply

