I wish I didn’t need a recipe

I admire people that can make up their own recipes. Those folks who can look in a refrigerator and just throw things together and end up with a delicious meal. It’s a skill that I do not possess. I watch Chopped and Cut Throat Kitchen with total envy. I’m getting better as I practice but I’ve been cooking for 20 years or so and I still need a recipe. At least as a reference. I will easily deviate from it – a little – but even tonight, when faced with salmon and not enough time to make my favorite grilled salmon recipe, all I could manage to do was sprinkle some citrus ginger rub on half of it (only half in case it wasn’t good) and cook the other half naked. BBBOOOOOORRRRRIIIIINNNNNGGGGG.

So in recognition of the fact that I can’t throw things together, I’m going to share two of my favorite recipes with you. The first is that awesome grilled salmon that I should have made tonight.

Screen Shot 2015-02-25 at 8.39.23 PM

The other is one of my favorite side dish recipes that a friend shared with me. This is the only way that I can get my girls to eat broccoli and I love it so much that I’m pretty sure I could actually eat myself sick on it!

Screen Shot 2015-02-25 at 8.38.48 PM

Does it suck that these recipes are images instead of text? If you’d rather have them as text that you can copy, please let me know in the comments and I’ll change them!

I wish I didn’t need a recipe

Leave a Reply

