Lenten plans

Apparently, today is Ash Wednesday; the beginning of the Lenten season. In my narrow focus, I actually thought today was Tuesday until around 5 pm despite dropping the youngest off at school this morning and picking her up this afternoon. (She only goes on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays. This should have tipped me off.)

I was raised catholic but stopped going to church pretty much as soon as my father stopped making me. My husband and I were married in the church and I went back for brief stints before my girls were born, searching for something, but I never really found what I was looking for there. I feel like lent is kind of engrained in me though. Every year in school, I would give up sweets or chocolate and would end up giving in to Girl Scout cookies sooner or later and always before Easter. Peanut butter patties, baby. Peanut. Butter. Patties.

As I got older, I started hearing about people who were doing things instead of giving up things for lent and I liked that idea a lot better. Why not try to become a better version of yourself rather than just being cranky because of depriving yourself of cookies? So, last year I considered doing 40 bags in 40 days. We were preparing to list our house and it seemed like a good fit but in the end, I just couldn’t get into the mindset of having to go through something or other every day.

I think this year for lent, I’m going to try again to fit regular exercise into my schedule. Thirty minutes every day. So far I’m one for one so I’m off to a good start. But good starts I’ve got down pat. It’s the strong finishes that I need practice with. Anyone wanna keep me in line?

How bout you? Do you have any Lenten plans?

Lenten plans

Leave a Reply

