When life hands you lemons…

IMG_7314When we’re young and idealistic, it’s so easy to shrug things off. Crappy job? No worries there’ll be another one along any day. Bad relationship? Time to move on. Hate your apartment? Move out! Maybe even take your stuff with you.

As you get older though, your responsibilities increase. There are cars and houses and bills and kids and all of the other material possessions that come with grown up lives. And it can be hard – really hard – to see the bright side of things.

Let’s face it: being an adult really sucks sometimes. But I believe that underneath all of the stress and anxiety of being an adult is still that ease that I knew as a child. If I can let go of the things that are stressing me, they lose power their power. Obviously, this is easier said than done sometimes. A crappy job that pays 100% of your healthcare expenses is pretty difficult to walk away from. A child that doesn’t listen or argues everything obviously can’t be bent to your will. (Trust me. I’ve tried.)

But I can choose how I react to these situations. If quitting my job isn’t the right choice, can I leave my frustrations at work and enjoy my time away from there fully? Maybe. If my daughter won’t listen, can I calmly state my expectations and let her face the natural consequences of her action (or inaction as the case may be)? Hopefully.

Like my complaining the other day, it can be very easy to get caught in negative thought. Negativity begets negativity and it’s a vicious cycle. But there’s a whole big world out there. And it’s full of beautiful things. And if I try hard enough, I know I’ll be able to find it again.

When life hands you lemons…

Leave a Reply

