Centering?

spring_desktop_wallpaper

Today is one of those days that I’m positive will one day do me in for good. It’s one of those scattered, emotional roller coaster days that are constantly throwing me for a loop.

In order to combat the fact that my brain can’t decide which way is up at the moment, I’m going to share some things that I’m thankful for since it can be so easy to default to negative thinking when my brain can’t focus.

I am thankful that I have enough to eat. Always. And more often than not, more than I could ever possibly dream of eating. And the ability to get more at the drop of a car key. I need to remember that there are places in the world – in our country, even in my own community – that this is not always the case.

I am thankful for the two beautiful little girls that I share my life with. There was a time when I truly doubted if that would ever happen. When they test their boundaries and my patience I have to imagine how different my life would be without their smiling little faces talking at me every second of the day. I know some people never achieve their dream of becoming parents and that very easily could have been my fate.

I am thankful for my husband and everything that he does for me and my family. I may need to be the house manager and ask him to do things that come naturally to me but he does them. And usually without too much grief. He is a good and loving man. I know that there are women who are truly and utterly afraid of being in the same room with their husbands. I am grateful that I’ve never known that fear.

I am thankful for the sun – oh so thankful! There are days that closing my eyes and turning my face to the sun and feeling its brightness, letting it soak into my body, is all it takes to turn my mood around. Today was not one of those days but I did enjoy the feeling while I was in it. There are people who live their whole lives in darkness and can’t feel the sun even when it’s shining on them. I am thankful that I am able to stop and feel and appreciate.

I am thankful that I am able to have perspective. I’ve spent time complaining to myself and others lately and I am happy to be able to look at the opposite side of my complaints. I am blessed beyond belief and I will be thankful if I can always remember that.

Centering?

2 thoughts on “Centering?

Leave a Reply

